The City

The city drew breath around 7Clad in black

A slow funeral march

To the soundtrack of grinding escalators
My neat knee length dress

New stockings and shoes that click clacked

Lies from neck to toe 

And a head that reminded me of it
Up stairs and lifts and escalators

False smiles pushing more caffeine into my hands

Paper flooding my desk as though 

The forests I longed for were mocking me
Phones ringing and keyboards tapping

Clock ticking

5pm clicks at the same time as the door

And I’m out.

Leave a Reply

